My Pantry

I made an inventory of my pantry, fridge, and freezer this morning. I am definitely missing a few items and have some items that are not necessities but are luxuries.  Essentially what you should have in your pantry to create basic meals is this: at least two sources of carbohydrates (bread, pasta, rice, etc), salt, pepper, and oil. The basic fridge items are eggs, butter, at least one type of cheese, and a vegetable. In the freezer keep protein sources (meat, poultry), and cut vegetables. To note, I am not a vegetarian and I eat dairy. Eggs are my main source of protein because they are versatile and cheap. I bake items such as bread, cookies, and cakes so I keep baking basics on hand. I suggest, whenever possible, purchasing low-sodium, no salt added options. Reduced-fat, low-fat, and non-fat dairy products are also a good idea if you want to reduce fat and caloric intake. I do not count calories or fat grams, but try to eat healthy when possible.

Leave a Reply

