Oven Baked Turkey Breast with Carrots and Barley

Dinner tonight included a skinless, boneless turkey breast, sliced carrots with slivered almonds, and barley with parsley.

Oven Baked Turkey Breast

  • 1 boneless skinless turkey breast
  • garlic powder
  • parsley
  • salt
  • pepper
  • canola spray

Baked in the oven at 375° F. for about 30 minutes. I cooked it on top of the carrots on parchment paper in a glass baking dish. It’s good with a lot of spicy mustard, but everything is better with spicy mustard in my opinion.

Sliced Carrots

  • about one cup frozen, sliced carrots (I slice and freeze my own vegetables)
  • parsley
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • pepper
  • tablespoon of slivered almonds
  • canola spray

Bake with turkey breast in oven for about thirty minutes at 375° F.

Barley with Parsley

  • 1 cup pearled barley
  • 1 3/4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • kosher salt (to taste)
  • parsley

Bring the chicken broth to a boil. Add pearled barley and salt. Reduce to a simmer. Cover with a lid and let this cook for about forty-five minutes. After barley is cooked through add parsley.

Now making barley on my range proved to be quite a challenge. I’m not sure why, but low on my range is what medium-high is on most other ranges. When I try to turn it down lower it makes this awful high pitch whistling sound. Normally, I avoid making foods that require simmering, but I was really craving the creamy heartiness of barley today.  I ended up doubling the amount chicken broth originally called for in my recipe. My barley ended up being a tad undercooked, but I can deal with that. Additionally, I added a ton of spicy mustard to it to make it creamier and to give it some pizazz.

In all, this was a delicious, hearty dinner for a cold day where I had some extra time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

