Chicken Soup

This weekend Andrew was sick and wanted soup. We sort of worked together on this one with me teaching him how to make a good chicken soup. Andrew doesn’t let me cook for him usually so I was really excited to make soup for him and he ate three bowls of it! I finally had some today and it was very good. I added extra pepper to my bowl because I like my soup peppery.

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken leg quarter
  • two carrots
  • 1/2 cup rice
  • 1/4 cup pearled barley
  • 1 carton low-sodium chicken broth
  • two cups water
  • one diced shallot
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • pepper

First I browned the chicken in a large pot with some oil and the shallot. Then I added the broth, water, and carrots.  I brought this to a boil and added the rice and barley. Then I reduced it to a simmer over low heat. It simmered for about thirty minutes. Then I removed the chicken from the bone, shredded it, and added it back in the pot.

Leave a Reply

