Kielbasa Stew

My boyfriend is going through a barley phase. I love barley: its cheap, filling, and goes a long way. A couple weeks ago I made chicken soup with rice and barley for him. This weekend I made kielbasa stew with barley, carrots, and parsnips. It turned out absolutely delicious. It was a little on the greasy side because I used three kielbasa when I perhaps should have used three. Andrew ate two large bowls of it and I was tempted to go back for a second myself.

Ingredients

3 pork kielbasa (you can definitely use turkey if you prefer), sliced into bite sized pieces

1/2 cup pearled barley

1 16 0z. carton of low sodium, fat free chicken broth

two carrots, peeled and roughly chopped into bite sized pieces

  • two medium sized parsnips, peeled and chopped roughly into bite sized pieces
  • three medium shallots, diced.
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of minced garlic

Procedure

Boil chicken broth then add pearled barley. Reduce heat to low and simmer. Add parsnips, carrots, shallots, and garlic. Season to preference. Let cook for about twenty-five minutes until carrots, parsnips, and barley are tender. Then add sliced kielbasa and cook for another five minutes.

The broth came out flavorful, creamy and robust. I love parsnips to no end and think they are one of the best vegetables out there. I suppose if you cannot find them in your supermarket or farmer’s market then potatoes would work as well or any other root vegetable of your choice.


Leave a Reply

