French Apple Cake

Yesterday Andrew and I were invited over to his friend Peter’s house for dinner. As usual, dinner consisted of sausages, bread, salad, and tri-tip. I wanted to provide a dessert, but there were certain guidelines. My boyfriend does not eat dairy and doesn’t like most sweets. Peter is lactose intolerant so cannot eat dairy. I have been wanting to make an apple cake for a while even though apples are not in season right now. I picked up some organic granny smith apples from Shopper’s Corner, a local grocery store.

The recipe I used is from the Joy of Cooking.

French Apple or Peach Cake

Sweet and Rich

Preheat oven to 425°

Grease the pan or ovenproof dish and cover the bottom well with:

  • 2 cups or more sliced apples, peaches or other fruit

Sprinkle the fruit with:

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • cinnamon or nutmeg
  • grated rind and juice of 1 lemon

Dredge with:

  • 1 tbsp flour

Pour over surface:

  • 2 to 4 tablespoons melted butter

Prepare the following batter. Sift before measuring:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

Resift with:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Beat and add:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1/4 cup milk

Beat these ingredients with swift strokes until blended. Cover the fruit with the batter. Bake the cake for about thirty minutes. Reverse it on a platter. Cool slightly.

Notes: I ended up having to double the batter recipe. The original recipe did not end up covering my fruit. When I added my cake to the oven, a good amount of cake batter leaked out of the pan and started burning on the bottom of the oven. I had to take the cake out and put it into another spring form pan and put it in a different oven. It took much longer than thirty minutes to cook because of the extra batter. I also reduced the cooking temperature halfway through because the top became very brown before the middle was cooked.  I ended up using three apples for this recipe: one in the cake and two for the topping. I sliced two granny smith apples added them to a pan with one tablespoon of butter, nutmeg, cinnamon, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and some vanilla extract. Once the cake was cooled an on a plate, I added this as a topping.

3 responses to “French Apple Cake

  1. Looks delicious… I might have to make that sometime, only with pears!

  2. Thanks! I think it would be amazing with pears.

  3. Nice! This my family’s treasured apple cake recipe from my grandma:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/grandmas-slab-apple-cake/

Leave a Reply

