Chicken Stir-Fry with Soba Noodles

Andrew and I made chicken stir-fry for dinner yesterday. We bought one pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts from Whole Foods. I sliced these into about one-half inch thick pieces and trimmed the fat. I made a sauce with “cock sauce” (its an Asian red pepper sauce), salt, pepper, rice wine vinegar, teriyaki, minced garlic, brown sugar, and soy sauce. I put the chicken in the sauce. Then I put water onto boil for the soba noodles. I added oil to a non-stick skillet and poured the chicken with sauce into that pan on about medium-low heat. In another pan, I added minced garlic, one small head of savoy cabbage (sliced into small pieces), brocolli, carrots, and pineapple. I added water, salt, and pepper to the vegetables. Once the water was boiling, I added the soba noodles. It took about fifteen minutes for the chicken to poach in the sauce. The noodles are very quick cooking and make sure not to overcook them since they will go gummy if you let them cook too long. If you’re not familiar with soba, they are a Japanese buckwheat noodle that are a little thicker than angel hair, but not as thick as spaghetti.

I mixed all three components together. It turned out nice, if a little saucy. I added a lot more “cock sauce” to mine. It made for yummy leftovers today.

Leave a Reply

