Thrown Together

Sometimes when I get off work I want a burrito or french fries or something else that I can’t make at home,  then I remember that  I have to eat what I have in the cupboard because it’s already paid for. It was freezing today so I wanted to make something warm and with substance. I threw together a tasty, simple stew of carbohydrates, veggies, and protein.

Ingredients

  • one russet potato, washed and cubed
  • one can of green peas (no salt added)
  • one can of chickpeas
  • one tablespoon of garlic
  • two baby carrots, washed and diced
  • 1/4 cup brown rice
  • sprinkling of nutritional
  • salt and pepper
  • water

1. Boil water on high. Add nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, garlic, potato, carrot, and brown rice. Reduce heat to medium and put a lid on it.

2. After about twenty minutes add the canned goods. Ladle into a serving bowl and add mustard.

The mustard really made it for me. Otherwise it was kind of a bland dish. You could always make this into a curry or serve it with bread. I just didn’t have either of those.

Leave a Reply

