Perogies Giganticus

I have been craving perogies for a while. I love the kind with potatoes and cheese inside, but having given up cheese I decided to make my own vegan version. These turned out fairly well. I forgot to add nutritional yeast to the filling and feel that it definitely would have added some extra flavor. I wanted to put my mashed potatoes and carrots through the food processor but got talking to my housemate so I ended up doing it by hand. I think the texture would have been smoother if I had used the food processor. Another thing I would change in the future would be using non-vanilla almond milk. The vanilla taste gets into everything and its kind of weird.

Another thing with this recipe is that my perogies turned out HUGE. The recipe was supposed to make thirty perogies and mine only made FIVE. FIVE. FIVE gigantic perogies. I liked the one I made with apple butter much better than the ones I made with potato and carrot.

Vegan Perogies

Dough Ingredients

  • 2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup earth balance
  • 3-6 tbsp. water (I ended up using at least six tbsps.)

Potato Filling Ingredients

  • 2 potatoes sliced, boiled, and mashed
  • 3 tbsp. earth balance
  • 2 cup boiled water
  • 3 tbsp. rice cheese (I used mozzarella)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic
  • three baby carrots peeled, sliced, boiled and mashed
  • almond milk

1. Cut earth balance into sifted flour and salt with two knives or fingers (I used my fingers). Add water and mix well. If more water is needed, add a tablespoon at a time, until the dough comes together in a ball.

2. Next, prepare the filling. In a medium-sized bowl, add mashed potatoes and carrots, rice cheese, salt, pepper, garlic, and almond milk. Add water and whip with a fork until all ingredients are incorporated.

3. Divide dough into five or six balls. Roll dough out and cut into circles using a biscuit cutter or a drinking glass. Put about a walnut sized spoonful of filling onto the circle. Fold one half of the dough over the filling. Press edges down with a fork.

4. Place dumplings into boiling water for about five to ten minutes. From here you can either eat them or fry them up in some oil. I think mine would have tasted better in some oil, but I chose to take the healthier route.

One response to “Perogies Giganticus

  1. These were much better the next day fried up in a little oil with Dijon mustard on the side.

Leave a Reply

