Steel Cut Oats

I realized this morning that I hardly ever do breakfast posts. I always eat breakfast and I enjoy breakfast foods, but most of the time breakfast means a bowl of cereal or a couple of pieces of toast with apple butter. Then coffee. I am a coffee addict. I decided to show a little bit of what I eat for breakfast on a typical morning. McCann’s steel cut instant oats with salt and agave syrup.

Breakfast Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup McCann’s steel cut instant oats (or any brand of plain instant oats)
  • 3/4 cup to 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk (you can use rice, soy, or cow milk. You can also use water.)
  • a sprinkle of salt
  • agave syrup

1. Pour oats and milk into a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for two minutes uncovered. Add salt and syrup to taste.

The salt really adds a complexity of flavor. It brings out the oat flavor and brings balance to the sweetness of the agave syrup. I would really like to try some savory oatmeal recipes in the future.

4 responses to “Steel Cut Oats

  1. I don’t have a microwave, so I put oatmeal in my coffee maker. I’m going to have to look for agave syrup, though. Sounds good.

Leave a Reply

