Grapefruit Cake, Roasted Fingerlings, and Spring Rolls

On Wednesday I made dinner for my friend Ian and I. I was going to make a tempeh salad with bbq tempeh, black beans, avocado, and a citrus vinaigrette, but I completely botched my bbq sauce and my tempeh (they tasted awful). I ended up making roasted fingerling potatoes and salad spring rolls. The grapefruit cake turned out amazing. Ian and I ended up eating almost half of it together and he took the rest of it home. Unfortunately I did not get any pictures of the food, but here are the recipes.

Grapefruit Cake

Adapted from 1,000 Great Recipes

The grapefruits at New Leaf market in Santa Cruz looked great this week so I bought two of them picturing some sort of dessert and then a citrus salad dressing. I never got around to the citrus salad dressing, but I did make an awesome grapefruit cake. The original recipe was not vegan so I veganized it and the original used lemons not grapefruits.

Cake Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 4 1/2 tsps. Ener-G egg replacement (mixed with 9 tbsps. of water)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • grated rind of one grapefruit

Syrup Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • juice of 1 grapefruit

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease an 8″ spring form cake pan.

2. Beat the earth balance and sugar together until light and fluffy, then gradually add the Ener-G egg replacement mixture. Fold in the flour and the grapefruit rind.

3. Turn the cake mixture into the cake tin and bake for 1 hour, until set in the center and golden brown. Remove the cake from the oven, but leave in the pan.

4. To make the syrup, gently heat the sugar in the grapefruit juice until melted, then boil for 15 seconds. Pour the syrup over the cake in the tin and leave to cool.

This made a moist, dense delicious cake. The original recipe called for self-rising flour, which I did not have so I used all-purpose flour. My cake did not rise, but this didn’t bother me since I enjoy denser cakes not light fluffy ones.

Roaster Fingerling Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 1-2 lbs. fingerling potatoes
  • salt
  • pepper
  • sunflower oil
  • paprika

1. Pre-heat oven to 375º F. Cut potatoes into small chunks. Place on roasting pan with salt, pepper, paprika, and sunflower oil. Roast for about twenty minutes.

They were very good!

Leave a Reply

