Cupcake Rage

This is another pictureless post. After the success of the grapefruit cake on Wednesday, I wanted to make another citrus flavored dessert. I chose to make two kinds of cupcakes: lemon cupcakes and lemon coconut cupcakes  both with lemon buttercream frosting, shredded coconut, and fresh berries.  I was baking these to celebrate my friend Katie being accepted into grad school at University of Edinborough.

The lemon cupcakes tasted good to me, but they were a bit heavy and dense. Andrew really didn’t like the way they tasted, but I think that’s just his unnatural abhorrence of buttery flavored things. He could also have been tasting the powdered egg replacement and it might have trigged something in his palate that it doesn’t do to me. I didn’t get around to tasting the lemon coconut cupcakes, but they looked fluffier (I doubled the amount of baking powder I put in).

I was satisfied with the cupcakes. If they were dense oh well, I can blame that on them being vegan. I started on the lemon “butter”cream frosting. I had noticed earlier the weird separation thing that Smart Balance does with lemon juice and I was worried about it in my frosting. This is exactly what happened, I had these strange floating butter bits after I added the lemon juice. Even if I added more powdered sugar it didn’t really change the weird bits or the runny texture. Still, I forged on, not willing to give up yet. I tasted the frosting: it tasted fine. I put it on a cupcake with some berries and tasted it…not what I wanted. The combination of one delicious thing (the berries) with two things that were okay: made me really ANGRY.

I threw them all into the waste basket. I was pissed. Why can’t I ever make frosting? I have never made a succesful buttercream frosting vegan or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

