Strawberry Scones Via Cindy

My blog will be taking a new turn. I’ve invited my friend Cindy to start sending me recipes and pictures of the food that she cooks. She mostly cooks vegetarian, but does eat some meat occasionally and she bakes a lot. She cooks things that are very different than what I cook and her boyfriend has an amazing garden with gorgeous squash blossoms. I’m quite jealous. Hopefully, once Andrew and I find a place we can start growing some vegetables and I will feel more comfortable cooking more complicated dishes. At this point, I don’t feel comfortable cooking in my kitchen because my landlord is always there. When we have our own place I suspect that I will cook a lot more complicated and interesting food.

She used the recipe from the Confessions of a Tart blog, which I highly suggest checking out. She seems to make beautiful baked goods and takes excellent photos that I’m extremely jealous of.

Strawberry Scones

  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 3 tablespoons sugar (granulated)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons butter, in cubes, slightly softened
  • 2/3 cup half-and-half or cream or cold buttermilk

Topping:

  • 1 tablespoon sugar

1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet. Sprinkle fruit with 1/2 tablespoon sugar; set aside.
2. Combine remaining sugar with flour, baking powder and salt. Add butter with a pastry cutter or you could be like Cindy and put yours in the oven to soften it. If a recipe calls for room temperature butter I do take the time to put it out and get it to room temperature, but Cindy is admittedly impatient. Stir in fruit; then add cream/half-and-half/buttermilk all at once. Use spatula to gently stir dough until it holds together.
3. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead a few times to incorporate dry ingredients. Sprinkle dough with flour if it gets sticky.
4. Press the dough into a circle 3/4 inch thick. If any berries peek out, push them into dough. Cut circle into 6-8 wedges, then transfer wedges to the cookie sheet, leaving at least 1/2 inch of space between them. Bake 15 minutes.
5. Sprinkle with sugar and bake 5-10 more minutes or until the tops are beginning to brown and spring back when you push them.

I can’t find the picture that Cindy took of it.

Leave a Reply

