I burned something again…

As I walking through the aisles at New Leaf Market on the westside, I got what I thought was an amazing idea for a sandwich: a “chicken” cesar salad sandwich. I know this has probably been done before, but I had in my mind that this would be a delicious sandwich. I had lettuce at home to use and I bought red waxy potatoes at Safeway. I would slice the potatoes and use them as the chicken. Then I would use snap pea crisps to add the cesar flavor and toast bread with rice cheddar cheese. Maybe I would add avocado since avocados were one sale. I even got Kelly’s amazing sourdough loaf. I thought this would be a tasty sandwich.

What it turned into was this:

Now, what is that? That is a salad with green leaf lettuce, blackberries, skillet fried potato, and snap pea crisps with balsamic vinaigrette. That is definitely not what I originally envisioned but it was delicious nonetheless.

Blackberry Potato Salad

  • green leaf lettuce, chopped
  • blackberries
  • one red potato (you can use as many of the slices as you want)
  • snap pea crisps
  • Trader Joe’s balsamic vinaigrette

1. Slice potato into 1/4″ slices lengthwise, not width wise. Spice them however you like, I used salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder. In a small cast iron skillet (or any skillet that isn’t non-stick), heat up sunflower oil (or any oil you have on hand).  Add however many potato slices you can without crowding. Cook until browned on one side and then flip over. Cook until browned on that side, then remove and place on a plate with paper towel.

A blurry photo of step 1.

2. Cut green leaf lettuce. Add to bowl with potatoes, blackberries, and snap pea crisps. Add however much salad dressing you want.

So why did I end up with a salad instead of that delicious sandwich creation? Because I didn’t watch my bread and cheese under the broiler and it burnt to a crisp.

One response to “I burned something again…

  1. If only I had a quarter for every time I came here.. Great post!

Leave a Reply

