V.E.S.P.A. Cake

Unfortunately this is not a cake in the shape of one of those cute Italian hipster scooters. No, this is something as equally hipster, but not as cute. In fact, it came out rather ugly, but very tasty and moist, especially for a vegan baked good. Vegan baked goods tend to be dry due to the lack of eggs, but this was very dense and moist.

Why is it named V.E.S.P.A. cake then? Well, it’s an adaption of the Vanilla Yogurt Pound Cake from the Veganomicon. I never seem to be able to follow a recipe exactly. I always need to change something a little bit to make it my own or I’m lacking an ingredient, or maybe I just like being deviant. V stands for Vanilla & Vegan, E stands for Extract & Eggless,  S stands for Spelt, P stands for Pound Cake, and A stands for Almond Milk and Almond Extract. It is definitely not as pretty as the one from the Veganomicon because I used spelt flour, but I bet its just as tasty.

Here it is the V.E.S.P.A. Cake

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy yogurt
  • 1/2 cup blended silken tofu (blend before measuring)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (the original recipe called for soy milk)
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 sunflower oil (original recipe called for canola oil)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract (original recipe called for 1/2 tsp. orange extract and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract, but I wanted to do almond)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (original recipe called for 2 cups all-purpose flour)
  • 1 cup whole grain spelt  flour
  • 3 tablespoons arrowroot powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon (I used kosher)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 325º F. Lightly grease and flour a loaf pan. Blend tofu.

2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the soy yogurt, tofu, almond milk, sugar, oil, and extracts. Using the whisk attachment on the mixer, mix until everything is smooth (about two minutes). I still had some chunks of tofu, but I don’t think this mattered too much in the end.

3. Sift in the flour, arrowroot powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir to combine, and then beat for about two minutes or until batter is very thick. Do not overmix.

4. Pour battered into prepared loaf pan. Baking for 60-65 minutes, until a sharp knife comes out clean. In the Veganomicon they recommend not opening the oven for the first forty-five minutes. I opened the oven just to make sure my bakeware wasn’t going to explode (I couldn’t see if the ceramic I was using was ovenproof, so I wanted to check this) and everything turned out fine. But do err on the side of caution always.

5. Remove from the oven and and let cool in the pan for about ten minutes. Run a knife or spatula along the sides to loosen the cake. I flipped mine over onto a silicone baking mat to cool off. You could gently lift it out of the pan and put onto a wire rack to cool, but I do not own a wire rack and I am not good at being gentle with my baked goods. Once it is cool slice it and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

