My Most Delicious Green Bean Experience

Growing up I hated green beans. In fact, growing up I disliked most vegetables and a lot of other things. The problem was I was a kid and my mother couldn’t cook. If your parent doesn’t know how to cook vegetables (or anything else, sorry Mom!) then you don’t grow up loving your veggies. There are vegetables I’ve always loved for sure: peas, carrots, brocolli, and lettuce. There are others that I’ve grown to like over the years that I didn’t like as a kid: brussel’s sprouts, cabbage, and onions. There were others that I never tried as a kid and was able to try as an adult: beets, asparagus, parsnips, bok choy, and other leafy greens. There are still more vegetables that I have tried again as an adult that I will never enjoy: celery, tomatoes, zucchini, and cucumbers. One vegetable that I thought I would never like is green beans. I thought green beans were awful growing up and as an adult I still didn’t like them. The thing was, I always had them canned or frozen. They almost always tasted like sand to me. It wasn’t until today that I learned that green beans can taste delicious and this is all thanks to Andrew.

Now Andrew and I manage to cook fairly well together. Or I manage to cook and Andrew cleans up for me and does prep work. I’ve been able to teach him how to make pizza dough, chicken and rice soup, noodle soup, and a couple other things. We work well as a team in the kitchen. Today Andrew was able to show me how he makes asparagus and green beans. They turned out delicious. Really delicious. One of the best vegetable experiences ever. Seriously, I will be eating more vegetables now that I know how to do this.

It’s very simple.

Andrew’s Amazingly Delicious Lemony Veggies

Ingredients

  • asparagus
  • green beans
  • generous amounts of lemon juice
  • olive oil so the veggies don’t stick

1. Prep your vegetables. This means snapping the woody stem part of the asparagus off. I bend the asparagus and wherever it snaps naturally is where I snap it. For the green beans I cut the stem end off each green bean.

2. Heat your skillet with oil to medium. Add vegetables and generous amounts of lemon juice. Cook until vegetables are brown, crispy, and tender.  Large asparagus generally takes about fifteen minutes and green beans take less time than this so cook them separately.

2 responses to “My Most Delicious Green Bean Experience

  1. This sounds like something even I could make. So the green beans and the asparagus take the same amount of time to cook? I love asparagus!

    • The green beans take less time to cook. You just have to keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn. These were seriously easy to make. I can’t wait to try out other vegetables with this method.

Leave a Reply

