Oven Roasted Asparagus and Dal

Today for lunch I picked up a bunch of asparagus at Scotts Valley Market along with a packet of dal (Indian lentil soup) spices. I love asparagus. It’s definitely my favorite vegetable. Though I love the way Andrew cooks his asparagus I’m always experimenting. In the Veganomicon they highly recommend oven roasting asparagus. I wanted to try it and see if it was yummy, easy way to cook asparagus. My verdict: disgusting. I hated it! My garlic ended up burning, the asparagus was mushy (even though I cooked it for the lesser amount of time), and it was very greasy. It wasn’t as flavorful as the kind Andrew made either. I’m definitely not cooking it this way again. I was able to get down two stems before throwing it away.

I also made dal with chickpeas and whole grain naan. I bought the naan at the grocery store and cooked it in the oven for a few minutes, turning it over once. I cooked the dal according to the spice package. I had to add salt, curry powder, and chili flakes to make it tastier. I didn’t get a picture because my camera battery ran out before I was done.

One response to “Oven Roasted Asparagus and Dal

  1. It sounds like a great combination. I have to try it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

