Carrot Curry Soup with Chickpeas

I apologize for the lack of a photo. I had a photo all set up to take and it looked delicious and when I go to take the photo I realized I didn’t have my memory card in my camera. It was at home in Santa Cruz in my computer not at my new place in Santa Clara. I will share the recipe.

Ingredients

  • 2 large carrots, washed, and chopped
  • 1 15 oz. can chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup light coconut milk
  • 3 tbsps. curry powder
  • cayenne
  • salt
  • vegetable stock
  • olive oil

1. Wash and chop carrots into small pieces. Do not peel your carrots. Peeling causes you to lose nutritional value plus its extra work. Just make sure you wash your vegetables well. Put in a small soup pot. Cover with vegetable broth until carrots are covered. Cook on medium high until carrots are tender. Add curry powder, cayenne, and salt. The amount depends on your taste buds. Do not overcook your carrots because you lose nutritional value. They do not have to be completely cooked through since you are going to be putting this soup in the blender.

2. While the carrots are cooking, heat some olive oil in a non-stick skillet on medium. Add chickpeas to skillet with curry powder, cayenne, and salt. Cook until heated through and the spices have darkened a bit in color. Take off the heat so they do not burn.

3. Be careful with this next step, you do not want to burn yourself. Pour soup into blender. Add coconut milk. Blend until smooth.

4. Pour into bowl and add chickpeas on top. This will make about four servings.

The end result was a spicy, creamy, carrot soup with the wonderful added flavor and texture of the pan fried chickpeas. I love chickpeas.

2 responses to “Carrot Curry Soup with Chickpeas

  1. Emma Goerisch

    I’m making this soon. Too good to pass up.

Leave a Reply

