Product Review- Pretzel M&Ms

Now I don’t generally opt for candy like M&Ms, Snickers, or Butterfingers. I mostly don’t like the way milk chocolate tastes or the use of high fructose corn syrup in chocolate. However, I was intrigued by the newest member of the M&M line-up: pretzel M&Ms. Growing up if I had M&Ms I would go for the peanut butter ones, much better than Reeses Pieces in my opinion. I wanted to try the pretzel M&M because I like the interplay of salty, crunchy, and sweet.

First it comes in a blue bag. I like the color blue. It has a picture of one of the M&M characters putting an x-ray up to his chest showing a traditional knotted pretzel inside. I knew that the pretzel inside the real M&Ms were not going to be the knotted kind, but I had to make sure this was the case. I would have been very impressed if they were able to do that. I sucked one of the giant candy spheres (these are much larger than the typical M&M and spherical in shape) until the chocolate was gone and I was left with the pretzel. Yep, pretzel ball. It is not a knotted pretzel inside. I was somewhat disappointed but not surprised.

I would not go out of my way again to eat these M&Ms. They do however have the low calorie count compared to many commercial chocolate candies: 150 calories for the small bag. This doesn’t mean these are a good snack option though.

2 responses to “Product Review- Pretzel M&Ms

  1. We have a problem here. I don’t know if I can be friends with someone who doesn’t love Reeses Pieces.

Leave a Reply

