Sweet Butternut Squash Potstickers and Butternut Squash Ravioli

Today I decided to make butternut squash ravioli and sweet butternut squash potstickers. I bought potsticker wrappers and a butternut squash from Scotts Valley Market. I peeled and chopped the squash (next time I would buy the prepared kind from Whole Foods) into small pieces. I put one half on a baking sheet and mixed it with spray oil and salt. The other half I put on another baking sheet and mixed it with spray oil, salt, pumpkin pie spices, and brown sugar. Iput these in a 400 degree oven for fifteen minutes. I took them out and stirred the squash then put them into the oven for another ten minutes.

I made the ravioli first by putting the squash into the food processor with a little bit of almond milk, black pepper (too much accidently), and Italian seasoning (I’m not sure what it all amounted to but it was what was in the cupboard). I blended these until it was mostly smooth but there was still some texture. I put about a tablespoon onto a wrapper, spread egg wash around the edges and then placed another wrapper on top of that one. Once all the ravioli were made they went into boiling water four at a time until they were done. I ended up with about fourteen of them.

For the sweet potstickers, I put the butternut squash that was made with brown sugar into the food processor with some almond milk and brown sugar. I processed it until it was completely smooth. I put small spoonfuls onto each wrapper. Then I put egg wash around the edges and folded the wrapper over the filling and smooshed it down to make half-moons.

I heated up some spray oil in a non-stick skillet and added the potstickers six at a time. They cooked up in less than five minutes for each batch. They tasted alright but I think they would be better with a butter and brown sugar sauce or some powdered sugar on top. The ravioli tasted better but they aren’t as pretty.

2 responses to “Sweet Butternut Squash Potstickers and Butternut Squash Ravioli

  1. Potstickers and ravioli in the same breath. You are my kind of chef. Here is a recipe for a couscous that contains roasted butternut squash, zucchini, and carrots. http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/moroccan-couscous/

Leave a Reply

