Three Vegetable Dips

This weekend is my friend Peter’s birthday. In addition to the usual BBQ fare that we do at Peter’s house we are also having birthday cake, baked beans, veggies with dip, and CRICKETS. Yes, we are going to have crickets. As you can imagine, I’m stoked.

Yes, I know no one uses the word stoked anymore except me.

I am responsible for making the baked beans and the veggies with dips. I have red peppers, baby carrots, and broccoli prepared. I got off work early today so I decided to make three different dips: ranch, sun-dried tomato bean dip, and a white bean herb dip. Tomorrow I will be making my standby hummus.

Ranch Dip

The first dip that I made was a very time consuming process of adding a ranch dressing packet to some light sour cream and mixing it. Tons of work but definitely worth the flavor. 🙂

Sun-Dried Tomato Dip


The next dip that I made was a sun-dried tomato bean dip. This recipe took a little more time than just adding a powdered concoction to some sour cream. This recipe came from the Veganomicon. I was super-excited to try it. It’s not for the faint of heart or those who don’t like sun-dried tomatoes.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sun-dried tomatoes (the dry kind, not the kind in the oil)
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup canned white beans (I used canneloni)
  • 2 tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • several pinches of freshly ground black pepper

1. Place the tomatoes in a bowl and pour two cups of boiling water over them. Cover with a plate and let them soak for about fifteen minutes.

2. In a blender/food processor, grind the almonds to a powder. I messed this part up and added my beans and almonds together. I never read recipes correctly.

3. Use a slotted spoon or tongs to remove the tomatoes from the water (don’t discard the water) and add them to the almonds. Add the remaining ingredients and purree, adding up to 1/4 cup of the tomato water. Cover and chill for at least an hour.’

White Bean Herb Dip

The next dip that I made was made from the leftover white beans that I had from the sun-dried tomato recipe. I added one cup of white beans into the food processor with two large tablespoons of minced garlic, a bunch of dried dill, salt, pepper, onion powder, red chili flakes, and lemon juice. This came out as a pretty tasty, creamy herb bean dip.

Then I did something super complex and time consuming: I cut red bell peppers. This was actually more confusing than it sounds because THERE WERE PEPPERS GROWING INSIDE MY PEPPERS. Seriously, in two of my peppers there were little peppers growing inside. I don’t understand why or how this happened but it did.

2 responses to “Three Vegetable Dips

  1. yeah my dad will like this

Leave a Reply

