Salsa Failure…A Waste of A Sunday Afternoon

Last weekend we received a large bag chili peppers from Andrew’s cousin Matt. They were from his mother’s garden outside of Jackson. I used them today to make a large batch of salsa. This salsa took two hours to make and it was a huge disappointment. We are going to freeze it and give it to Matt the next time we see him.

The last time I made salsa it didn’t turn out too well either. It was too acidic, wet, and tomato tasting. This time I roasted the chili peppers in three separate batches under the broiler. Then let the chili peppers rest in a bowl under plastic wrap. This is essential for roasting peppers because they steam and it loosens the skin. Take the stems off and then take the skins off. I kept all the seeds in mine because I wanted a spicy salsa.

I cut up one red onion and put this in the oven at 400 degrees F. It was going to be two red onions but the one red onion I bought was rotten to the core. Sometimes organic produce can be very frustrating that way. They roasted in the oven for about fifteen or twenty minutes. They smelled so good and tasted awesome. I wish I had just left them out of the salsa to eat on their own.

Then I quartered seven heirloom tomatoes. I’ve never had an heirloom tomato before because I hate tomatoes. I wanted to try them in my salsa this time to see what kind of flavor they would lend. These roasted in the oven at 375 F. for about twenty-five to thirty minutes.

I first tried blending everything in the blender together with some salt, garlic, and lemon juice but my blender killed itself and I had to switch to doing small batches in the food processor. My food processor is super tiny so I had to three or four batches.

What came out was not spicy, but sweet and fire-roasted. I like super spicy salsa. This was a huge disappointment and a waste of time. Now I have a gigantic load of dishes to do.

I also bought some prickly pears at the grocery store today. I cut them up with some mango to make a fruit salad. A nice pairing and much better tasting than the salsa I made.

6 responses to “Salsa Failure…A Waste of A Sunday Afternoon

  1. Did you add salt to the salsa? Salt often takes heat up a notch. I think you could save this! Heirloom tomatoes are usually acidic so it is pretty surprising that your salsa came out sweet. Throw some onions and salt in there, maybe some roasted garlic too πŸ™‚

  2. Be sure and post if you ever make salsa that does taste good. I’m trying to cut back on salt and all the salsas at the market have so much and the ones that don’t taste awful.

    • I did make a salsa verde once that turned out amazing. The recipe is actually a chili recipe from the Veganomicon. It was so spicy at first that I had to take a shower after making it. After an hour or so the heat died down and it was delicious!

  3. Good post, adding it to my blog now, thanks. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

