Caramelized Onions

Now, I normally do not like onions. I like their flavor, but I can’t stand the texture of raw onions or slightly cooked onions. They have to be caramelized for me to stand their texture. I took the time today to make a large batch of caramelized onions.

The raw onions when I first put them on the stove.

I chopped three yellow onions into thin slices. I cooked them for twenty minutes on medium. Then I reduced the heat to medium low and added two tablespoons of olive oil and some salt.

After twenty minutes of cooking. Add salt and olive oil.

Then I cooked them for another hour. Yes, another hour. It takes a while for these to reach the right softness and sweet, deep flavor. They no longer taste like onions nor have the texture of onions. They are absolutely delicious. I couldn’t stop eating them out of the pan once they were finished.

After an hour of cooking. Delicious!

 

2 responses to “Caramelized Onions

  1. We make carmelized onions all the time- use like 5 pounds of onions and it makes like a cup of onions. But they’re so yummy! However, i pretty much like onions in everything.

Leave a Reply

