Lemon Bars

The sunshine has turned to rain and we are finally back to winter here in the San Francisco Bay Area after two weeks of weather in the low seventies. I made these lemon bars last weekend when the sun was shining and I actually wanted to venture into my backyard to get a lemon. I wasn’t sure if I was going to post these because the end result photos ended up turning out bad, but I liked the recipe so much and they tasted delicious I figured I should share the goodness with everyone.

I love lemon flavored desserts. I used to make them quite often when I worked for a family that had a lemon orchard. Now,  I don’t make desserts too often because I don’t live in a house with five other people to eat them. I do, however, have a bunch of lemon trees in my backyard that are filled with fruit. We were having guests over and I thought that lemon bars would be a nice addition to the buffalo chili and cornbread that we would be serving for dinner. I’m sorry I didn’t get any pictures on the buffalo chili because it turned out amazing.

These lemon bars were pretty easy to make, but mine did not turn out that super electric yellow like the ones you get at the store, or like the last time I made them. I’m not sure if it is because of the recipe or because I used raw sugar instead of granulated white sugar, which I never use anymore. I was eating them for days afterward, trying to limit myself to one a day.

Leave a Reply

