Beer Beef and Barley Stew

In October I made a number of meals based on alcohol. I generally don’t drink a lot of alcohol or cook with it usually. Usually when cooking with alcohol it is wine or in desserts. I don’t like to drink wine so why would I cook with it?

This recipe is based on Sam Adams’ Pumpkin Ale, a beer that I would never drink but turned out wonderful as a base for hearty beef and barley stew. The broth of the stew ended up tasting like the gravy in Shepherd’s Pie. It was incredibly flavorful and filling.

I started with pre-cut stew meat from Safeway and chopped it into smaller pieces. I browned this with shallots and carrots in some olive oil. Then I added a bottle of Sam Adams’ Pumpkin Ale and a cup of vegetable stock. I brought this to a boil then added a half cup of pearled barley. I brought it down to a simmer and let it cook for about forty-five minutes or until the barley was completely tender.

3 responses to “Beer Beef and Barley Stew

  1. Are you using SEOPressor? It’s hands down the best SEO plugin for wordpress. I use it on my websites and I’m now getting hundreds of customers daily to my websites – it’s awesome!

  2. Your website is excellent Really, i’ve observed your post and That was really informative and quite entertaining for me. Thanks for posting Truly Such Points. I must suggest your internet site to my buddies. Cheers. I’ve to thank you for this epic web-site . I undoubtedly liked any really small bit of it. I’ve you bookmarked your internet website page to view using the existing stuff you generate. Took me awhile to read all of the comments, but I actually really like the post. It proved to be really beneficial to me and I’m certain to all of the commenters here! I hope you’ll maintain updating your content material continually as you might have 1 devoted reader here.Men’s Tech Jackets,Men’s Down Jackets,Thermo 2 Down Jacket
    http://www.2sdf.com/member.php?u=55822

  3. 6SHthD lrvdxcyttnjg, [url=http://ovavhblycppq.com/]ovavhblycppq[/url], [link=http://tnybqzdciazd.com/]tnybqzdciazd[/link], http://unxrrzogujhx.com/

Leave a Reply

